Eight writers awarded Yale’s Windham-Campbell Prizes 1

Yale University on March 29 announced the eight recipients of the 2022 Windham-Campbell Prizes in the tenth anniversary since the award’s inception. The awards will be conferred in person during an annual international literary festival at Yale, planned for Sept. 19 to Sept. 22, which will feature a keynote address by Natasha Trethewey, who served two terms as Poet Laureate of the United States. The writers, whose works explore the personal as well as complex issues of history, politics, and culture, were honored for their literary achievement or promise. Each will receive $165,000 to support their work.

The prize recipients are in fiction, Tsitsi Dangarembga (Zimbabwe) and Siphiwe Gloria Ndlovu (Zimbabwe); in non-fiction, Margo Jefferson (United States) and Emmanuel Iduma (Nigeria); in drama, Winsome Pinnock (United Kingdom) and Sharon Bridgforth (United States); and in poetry, Wong May (Ireland/Singapore/China) and Zaffar Kunial (United Kingdom).

This year marks the 10th anniversary of the Windham-Campbell Prizes, one of the world’s most significant international literary awards.

Learn more about the recipients and the Windham-Campbell Prize on YaleNews here.